Skip to main content

2022 AFT-Kansas Candidate Endorsements

We are pleased to announce our candidate endorsements for the 2022 General Election in Kansas on Tuesday, 8 November.

We will continue to update this page as we complete our evaluations of candidates in the upcoming election.

The last day to register to vote in Kansas is 18 October.

You can register online here and you can check to see if you are registered by looking here.

Statewide Offices

Laura KellyGovernorD
David TolandLieutenant GovernorD
Chris MannAttorney GeneralD
Jeanna RepassSecretary of StateD
Lynn RogersTreasurerD

District Races

As a result of redistricting following the 2020 census, your voting districts may have changed. You can see all of the new district maps on the Secretary of State's website.

Jeffrey HowardsBoard of Education 1D
Patrick SchmidtKansas 2D
Nina FrickeHouse 6D
Pam ShernukHouse 8D
Alana CloutierHouse 9D
Christina HaswoodHouse 10D
Gregory WilkinsonHouse 11D
Dennis MillerHouse 14D
Allison HouglandHouse 15D
Linda FeatherstonHouse 16D
Jo Ella HoyeHouse 17D
Cindy NeighborHouse 18D
Stephanie ClaytonHouse 19D
Mari-Lynn PoskinHouse 20D
Jerry StogsdillHouse 21D
Lindsay VaughnHouse 22D
Susan RuizHouse 23D
Jarrod OusleyHouse 24D
Rui XuHouse 25D
Christi PribulaHouse 27D
Ace AllenHouse 28D
Heather MeyerHouse 29D
Courtney EiterichHouse 30D
Louis RuizHouse 31D
Pam CurtisHouse 32D
Bill HuttonHouse 33D
Valdenia WinnHouse 34D
Marvin S. Robinson IIHouse 35D
Vanessa Vaughn WestHouse 39D
Harry SchwarzHouse 41D
Keith DavenportHouse 43D
Barbara BallardHouse 44D
Mike AmyxHouse 45D
Dennis "Boog" HighbergerHouse 46D
Dan OsmanHouse 48D
Brad BoydHouse 49D
Derik FlerlageHouse 52D
Kirk R. HaskinsHouse 53D
Tobias SchlingensiepenHouse 55D
Virgil WeigelHouse 56D
John AlcalaHouse 57D
Vic MillerHouse 58D
Darrell McCuneHouse 59D
Mic McGuireHouse 60D
Patricia SmetanaHouse 64D
Sydney CarlinHouse 66D
Kim ZitoHouse 67D
Mike Seymour IIHouse 68D
Sarah CrewsHouse 69D
Chuck TorresHouse 76D
W. Michael ShimeallHouse 78D
Kris TrimmerHouse 79D
Misti HobbsHouse 82D
Henry HelgersonHouse 83D
Jalon BrittonHouse 85D
Silas MillerHouse 86D
Chuck SchmidtHouse 88D
KC OhaebosimHouse 89D
Brooke ChongHouse 91D
John CarmichaelHouse 92D
Tom SawyerHouse 95D
Mike McCorkleHouse 100D
Jason ProbstHouse 102D
Garth StrandHouse 104D
Jaelynn AbeggHouse 105D
Brandon WoodardHouse 108D
Edward HammondHouse 111D
Jo Ann RothHouse 113D
Courtney TrippHouse 117D
Mel PinickHouse 121D

Our Endorsement Process

We used two main data sets for the basis of our evaluations: past voting records/performance in office and a candidate questionnaire. Incumbent candidates' voting records and performance in office were scored by tracking votes on bills of major significance to our members, committee work, and other duties as an elected official. Those who scored above a certain threshold were put on the endorsement long list. Newcomer candidates were sent an online questionnaire with a number of yes/no questions and ample opportunities to expand on their positions; the written responses carry the most weight in the scoring of the questionnaires on a scale of 1 (best) to 4 (worst). The responses to the questionnaires were scored by staff and executive board members and then averaged. Those candidates who scored above a threshold of an average of 2.5 were put on the endorsement long list. The endorsements long list was then presented to the AFT-Kansas Board for discussion and approval.

Candidate campaign materials, public statements, and endorsements from other organizations and groups played a smaller role in determining our endorsements.

Share This